Featured Stories, MIT, MIT News, News | April 12, 2017

Kerry Emanuel Elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Kerry A. Emanuel, the Cecil and Ida Green Professor of Earth and Planetary Sciences and Co-Director of the Lorenz Center, along with other MIT faculty, join the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, whose members include some of the world’s most accomplished scholars, scientists, writers, artists, as well as civic, business, and philanthropic leaders. 

Professor of climate dynamics, Kerry Emanuel
Kerry Emanuel, Professor of atmospheric science and climate dynamics

By MIT News Office

Eleven MIT faculty members, including the chancellor of the Institute, are among 228 leaders from academia, business, public affairs, the humanities, and the arts elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the academy announced today.

One of the nation’s most prestigious honorary societies, the academy is also a leading center for independent policy research. Members contribute to academy publications, as well as studies of science and technology policy, energy and global security, social policy and American institutions, the humanities and culture, and education.

Those elected from MIT this year are:

  • Angelika Amon, the Kathleen and Curtis Marble Professor of Cancer Research;
  • Hari Balakrishnan, the Fujitsu Professor in Electrical Engineering and Computer Science;
  • Cynthia Barnhart, MIT chancellor, Ford Foundation Professor of Engineering, and professor of civil and environmental engineering;
  • Edward S. Boyden, the AT&T Chair in the MIT Media Lab and the McGovern Institute for Brain Research and associate professor of biological engineering and brain and cognitive sciences;
  • Kerry A. Emanuel, the Cecil and Ida Green Professor of Earth and Planetary Sciences;
  • Joi Ito, professor of the practice in media arts and sciences and director of the MIT Media Lab;
  • Nergis Mavalvala, the Curtis and Kathleen Marble Professor of Astrophysics and associate head of the Department of Physics;
  • Earl K. Miller, the Picower Professor in the Picower Institute for Learning and Memory and the Department of Brain and Cognitive Sciences;
  • Mary C. Potter, professor emerita of psychology;
  • Daniela Rus, the Andrew and Erna Viterbi Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science and director of the Computer Science and Artificial Intelligence Laboratory; and
  • Paul L. Schechter, the William A. M. Burden Professor of Astrophysics, Emeritus.

“It is an honor to welcome this new class of exceptional women and men as part of our distinguished membership,” says Don Randel, chair of the Academy’s Board of Directors. “Their talents and expertise will enrich the life of the Academy and strengthen our capacity to spread knowledge and understanding in service to the nation.”

The new class will be inducted at a ceremony on Oct. 7 in Cambridge, Massachusetts.

Since its founding in 1780, the academy has elected leading “thinkers and doers” from each generation, including George Washington and Benjamin Franklin in the 18th century, Daniel Webster and Maria Mitchell in the 19th century, and Albert Einstein and Toni Morrison in the 20th century. The current membership includes more than 200 Nobel laureates and 100 Pulitzer Prize winners.

Read this story at MIT News.